Thursday, June 04, 2009

Getting ready for the Sevens

Morning, everybody. Rugby starts the blog today.

The El Wak Stadium in Accra, Ghana is set to welcome eight nations this weekend for a historic first ever North West Africa Women's Rugby Sevens.

Hosts Ghana will play alongside Togo, Tunisia, Nigeria, Cote d'Ivoire, Burkina Faso, Morocco and Egypt over two days.

The teams are split into two pools, Ghana, Tunisia, Ivory Coast and Burkina Faso in Pool A and Nigeria, Togo, Egypt and Morocco in Pool B.

"All the teams are expected in the country by the close of play Thursday and preparations have been made to adequately host them," said Gifty Annan-Myers, Chairperson of the Ghana Rugby Association.

The GRA hopes that the tournament can pave the way for the further development of the sport in the country.

"We want to popularise rugby in Ghana, so it is very important that this is a successful tournament," added Annan-Myers.

"We have received the necessary support from the International Rugby Board and the National Sports Council, so a huge amount of work has been done to ensure the successful organisation of the event."

North West Africa
Women's Rugby Sevens, 6-7 June
Pool A
Ivory Coast
Burkina Faso
Pool B

1 comment: said...

I am excited to see the results of this tournament, might highlight who will be the next african nation pushing for the big time. All results will be on

Post a Comment

I write, you critique! Feel free to be opinionated.